Close this search box.

All Subjects Coaching Classes For X 𝐭𝐨 XII & SSC And Banking, B.A

Sign Up to Score High Better Faster

 Civil Services Mains Exam Pattern

The second stage of the Civil Services Exam is called as the IAS Mains Exam. Those applicants who will be qualified in prelims exam only they will be able to participate in Civil Services Mains Exam. Civil Services Mains Exam will consist of the 9 papers, but only 7 papers will be counted for final merit ranking. For the rest two papers, the applicant should secure minimum marks prescribed by UPSC every year.

The candidates can choose the medium of writing the Civil Services Mains Exam in Hindi or English. The Indian Languages included in the civil services exam are as per languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution. The final rank of the candidates is on the basis of the marks obtained by them in the Main Exam and Personality Test (PT)/Interview.

There are 2 + 7 = 9 papers in the Mains Exam, all of them are descriptive type. Total Marks in Mains Exam is 1500 because Paper – A & Paper – B are only Qualifying paper.

Paper AIndian Language (Qualifying) *300
Paper BEnglish Language (Qualifying)300
Paper IEssay250
Paper IIGeneral Studies – I250
Paper IIIGeneral Studies – II250
Paper IVGeneral Studies – III250
Paper VGeneral Studies – IV250
Paper VIOptional Subject Paper: I250
Paper VIIOptional Subject Paper: II250

One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the aspirants (candidates)from the Languages included in the 8th Schedule to the Constitution. This paper will not be compulsory for aspirants (candidates) hailing from the States of Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram.

Click here and go to:

फॉर्म भरे जा रहे है

NIOS या कोई अन्य बोर्ड एग्जाम में फेल हुए छात्रों के लिए पास होने का सुनहरा अवसर

Useful Links